Dunkirk Official Reviews

Christopher Nolan's action triller about the WWII story commonly known as The Miracle at Dunkirk. July 21, 2017.
Post Reply
Posts: 2485
Joined: January 2016
Location: The Netherlands
Place to post only official reviews. No social media reactions for example.

No discussion please. Discuss and comment here: http://www.nolanfans.com/forums/viewtop ... d#p1115801

WARNING: some of the articles may contain spoilers.

POSITIVE:

Full Score:
Roger's Movie Nation: https://rogersmovienation.com/2017/07/1 ... f-dunkirk/ (Rating: 4/4)
Empire Online: http://www.empireonline.com/movies/dunkirk-2/review/ (Rating: 5/5)
The Guardian: https://www.theguardian.com/film/2017/j ... ilm-so-far (Rating: 5/5)
The Telegraph: http://www.telegraph.co.uk/films/0/dunk ... ristopher/ (Rating: 5/5)
Games Radar: http://www.gamesradar.com/dunkirk-review/ (Rating: 5/5)
Mirror: http://www.mirror.co.uk/tv/tv-reviews/r ... r-10817754 (Rating: 5/5)
Digital Spy: http://www.digitalspy.com/movies/review ... rk-review/ (Rating: 5/5)
Den of Geek: http://www.denofgeek.com/uk/movies/dunk ... irk-review (Rating: 5/5)
RTE: https://www.rte.ie/entertainment/movie- ... 3-dunkirk/ (Rating: 5/5)
Heyuguys: http://www.heyuguys.com/dunkirk-review/ (Rating: 5/5)
Scannain: http://scannain.com/review/review-dunkirk/ (Rating: 5/5)
Buzz.ie: https://www.buzz.ie/movies-tv/review-du ... 017-246289 (Rating: 5/5)
The Daily Mail: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/ar ... movie.html (Rating: 5/5)
Express: http://www.express.co.uk/entertainment/ ... pher-Nolan (Rating: 5/5)
The Insider: http://www.thisisinsider.com/dunkirk-mo ... les-2017-7 (Rating: A+)
Chicago Sun Times: http://chicago.suntimes.com/entertainme ... ilmmaking/ (Rating: 4/4)
Radio Times: http://www.radiotimes.com/news/2017-07- ... pher-nolan (Rating: 5/5)
CineVue: http://www.cine-vue.com/2017/07/film-re ... nkirk.html (Rating: 5/5)
The Skinny: http://www.theskinny.co.uk/film/new-releases/dunkirk (Rating: 5/5)
NME: http://www.nme.com/reviews/movie/dunkir ... rry-styles# (Rating: 5/5)
Digital Spy: http://www.digitalspy.com/movies/review ... rk-review/# (Rating: 5/5)
Irish Times: https://www.irishtimes.com/culture/film ... -1.3158686 (Rating: 5/5)
Rolling Stone: http://www.rollingstone.com/movies/revi ... er-w492668 (Rating: 4/4)
Film Starts: http://www.filmstarts.de/kritiken/240850/kritik.html (Rating: 5/5)
The HDRoom: http://www.thehdroom.com/movies/dunkirk ... ce-109968/ (Rating: 5/5)
Stuff: http://www.stuff.co.nz/entertainment/fi ... ar-classic (Rating: 5/5)
Coming Soon: http://www.comingsoon.net/movies/review ... w#/slide/1 (Rating: 10/10)
Humo: http://www.humo.be/filmreviews/380695/dunkirk (Rating: 5/5)
BBC: http://www.bbc.com/culture/story/201707 ... ar-triumph (Rating: 5/5)
The Cinemaholic: https://www.thecinemaholic.com/review-d ... sterpiece/ (Rating: 5/5)
Sound Venue: http://soundvenue.com/film/2017/07/dunk ... nde-265332 (Rating: 6/6)
AD: http://www.ad.nl/film/vijf-filmsterren- ... ~a40f7e02/ (Rating: 5/5)
Hindustan Times: http://www.hindustantimes.com/movie-rev ... YGuWP.html (Rating: 5/5)
Washington Post: https://www.washingtonpost.com/goingout ... 35b013307e (Rating: 4/4)
St. Louis Post-Dispatch: http://www.stltoday.com/entertainment/m ... 04a78.html (Rating: 4/4)
Moovy: http://www.moovy.dk/anmeldelser/film/Dunkirk (Rating: 6/6)
Filmmagasinet: http://www.nosferadio.dk/dunkirk/ (Rating: 6/6)
Deadline Hollywood: http://deadline.com/2017/07/dunkirk-rev ... 202132557/ (Rating: 5/5)
Flixist: https://www.destructoid.com/review-dunkirk-450341.phtml (Rating: 10/10)
The Flickpick: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aXz-0vMcPRk (Rating: A+)
The Daily Mail UK: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/home/event/a ... rbing.html (Rating: 5/5)
Eclipse Magazine (1): http://eclipsemagazine.com/dunkirk-is-s ... more-78622 (Rating: A+)
Smash Cut Reviews: http://smashcutreviews.com/2017/07/dunk ... ie-review/ (Rating: 5/5)

Other:
The Playlist: http://theplaylist.net/christopher-nola ... -20170717/ (Rating: A)
Entertainment Weekly: http://ew.com/movies/2017/07/17/dunkirk ... mentweekly (Rating: A)
IndieWire: https://www.indiewire.com/2017/07/dunki ... 201855825/ (Rating: A)
Chris Stuckmann: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2SglFUPQVnM (Rating: A)
IGN: http://www.ign.com/articles/2017/07/17/dunkirk-review (Rating: 9.5/10)
USA Today: https://www.usatoday.com/story/life/mov ... 482574001/ (Rating: 3.5/4)
NY Daily News: http://www.nydailynews.com/entertainmen ... -1.3332507 (Rating: 4.5/5)
Yahoo Movies: https://uk.movies.yahoo.com/film-review ... 00937.html (Rating: 8.5/10)
Vox: https://www.vox.com/culture/2017/7/17/1 ... s-spoilers (Rating: 4.5/5)
USA Today: https://www.usatoday.com/story/life/mov ... 482574001/ (Rating: 3.5/4)
Roger Ebert: http://www.rogerebert.com/reviews/dunkirk-2017 (Rating: 3.5/4)
Movie Web: http://movieweb.com/dunkirk-movie-revie ... her-nolan/ (Rating: 4.5/5)
Screenrant: http://screenrant.com/dunkirk-movie-reviews/ (Rating: 4.5/10)
Metro: http://www.metro.us/entertainment/movie ... rry-styles (Rating: 4/5)
Chicago Tribune: http://www.chicagotribune.com/entertain ... olumn.html (Rating: 3/4)
List Film: https://film.list.co.uk/article/93207-dunkirk/# (Rating: 4/5)
VPRO: https://www.vpro.nl/cinema/films/film~1 ... kirk~.html (Rating: 4/5)
Movieguide: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UPbB6abItvU (Rating: 4/5)
LRM: http://lrmonline.com/news/dunkirk-revie ... filmmaking (Rating: B+)
Bleeding Cool: https://www.bleedingcool.com/2017/07/18 ... olan-best/ (Rating: 9/10)
Flick Direct: http://flickdirect.com/movie-review/182 ... movie.ashx (Rating: A-)
Reel Reviews: http://www.reelviews.net/reelviews/dunkirk (Rating: 3.5/4)
AV Club: http://www.avclub.com/review/christophe ... irk-258204 (Rating: A-)
Schmoes Know: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gE4PmxgKenw (Rating: 4.5/5)
Parool: https://www.parool.nl/kunst-en-media/du ... ~a4507018/ (Rating: 4/5)
Premiere: http://www.premiere.fr/film/Dunkerque-1/critiques (Rating: 4/5)
Telegraaf: http://www.telegraaf.nl/tv/uitgaan/2868 ... rk___.html (Rating: 4/5)
Volkskrant: https://www.volkskrant.nl/film/dunkirk- ... ~a4507133/ (Rating: 4/5)
Daily Herald: http://www.dailyherald.com/entlife/2017 ... r-ii-drama (Rating: 3.5/4)
Politiken: http://politiken.dk/kultur/filmogtv/fil ... rt6038892/ (Rating: 5/6)
Filmz: http://filmz.dk/film/dunkirk/biograf (Rating: 5/6)
Boston Globe: https://www.bostonglobe.com/arts/movies ... story.html (Rating: 3.5/4)
Rendy Reviews: https://www.rendyreviews.com/movies//dunkirk-review (Rating: 4/5)
Boston Herald: http://www.bostonherald.com/entertainme ... ied_troops (Rating: B+)
Times of India: http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/ente ... s?from=mdr (Rating: 4.5/5)
Nederlands Dagblad: https://www.nd.nl/cookies-op-nd-nl.1449 ... 1715.lynkx (Rating: 4/5)
Buffalo News: http://buffalonews.com/2017/07/20/dunki ... uly-great/ (Rating: 3.5/4)
National Catholic Register: http://www.ncregister.com/daily-news/sd ... ws-dunkirk (Rating; A)
Philadephia Inquirer: http://www.philly.com/philly/columnists ... 70718.html (Rating: 3.5/4)
Star Tribune: http://www.startribune.com/dark-knight- ... 435646523/ (Rating: 3.5/4)
DNA India: http://www.dnaindia.com/hollywood/revie ... me-2508436 (Rating: 4.5/5)
News 18: http://www.news18.com/news/movies/dunki ... 67985.html (Rating: 4/5)
KOIMOI: http://www.koimoi.com/reviews/dunkirk-r ... sterpiece/ (Rating: 4/5)
The Guardian/Mark Kermode: https://www.theguardian.com/film/2017/j ... pher-nolan (Rating: 4/5)
The Workprint: https://www.theworkprint.com/dunkirk-no ... -again/123 (Rating: A)
The London Economic: https://www.thelondoneconomic.com/film/ ... say/31/07/ (Rating: 4/5)
The Cinematic Katzenjammer: http://cinekatz.com/2017/07/31/dunkirk- ... te-review/ (Rating: 9.7/10)
Eclipse Magazine (2): http://eclipsemagazine.com/dunkirk-gorg ... xhausting/ (Rating: A-)
The Express Tribune: https://tribune.com.pk/story/1472339/du ... sterpiece/ (Rating: 4/5)
Film Space: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DmG2jxaCOAg (Rating: 94%)
YMS: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HifgR1jJa6Q (Rating: 8/10)
The Daily Star: http://www.thedailystar.net/showbiz/mov ... rk-1450579 (Rating: 8/10)

No rating:
Hutch News: http://www.hutchnews.com/entertainment/ ... ea-and-sky
Variety: http://variety.com/2017/film/reviews/du ... 202495701/
Village Voice: https://www.villagevoice.com/2017/07/17 ... n-to-make/
USA Today: https://www.usatoday.com/story/life/mov ... 482574001/
Hollywood Reporter: http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/review ... ew-1021600
Uproxx: http://uproxx.com/movies/dunkirk-review/
Polygon: https://www.polygon.com/2017/7/17/15985 ... pher-nolan
The Wrap: http://www.thewrap.com/dunkirk-review-c ... ry-styles/
Rincon: http://rincon-movies.com/2017/07/17/dun ... gn=twitter
GQ: http://www.gq-magazine.co.uk/article/du ... d-premiere
ABC News: http://abcnews.go.com/Entertainment/wir ... t-48687720
Business Insider: http://www.businessinsider.com/dunkirk- ... &r=US&IR=T
Slate: https://slate.com/arts/2017/07/christop ... iewed.html
De Redactie: http://deredactie.be/cm/vrtnieuws/video ... /1.3027069
National Review: http://www.nationalreview.com/article/4 ... pher-nolan
Forbes: https://www.forbes.com/sites/scottmende ... 1ff0a26ecd
The Tracking Board: http://www.tracking-board.com/dunkirk-r ... nal-punch/
Reel Reviews: http://www.reelviews.net/reelviews/dunkirk
Nerd Report: http://www.nerdreport.com/2017/07/18/du ... w-wwiimax/
SF Gate: http://www.sfgate.com/movies/article/Du ... 297495.php
Orlando Weekly: https://www.orlandoweekly.com/orlando/d ... id=5651131
John Campea: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2WewnzV9O0I
Neighbourhood: http://neighbourhoodpaper.com/culture/d ... e-for-all/
Time: http://time.com/4864051/dunkirk-review/
Washington City Paper: http://www.washingtoncitypaper.com/arts ... k-reviewed
Information: https://www.information.dk/kultur/anmel ... -biografen
NH Register: http://www.nhregister.com/arts-and-ente ... tion-genre
Wall Street Journal: https://www.wsj.com/articles/dunkirk-re ... 1500487503
CNN: http://edition.cnn.com/2017/07/19/movie ... index.html
Vanity Fair: http://www.vanityfair.com/hollywood/201 ... lan-review
New York Times: https://www.nytimes.com/2017/07/20/movi ... nolan.html
KSL: https://www.ksl.com/?sid=45097815&nid=1205
The Hindu: http://www.thehindu.com/entertainment/m ... 317851.ece
The New Yorker: http://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2017/ ... rtime-epic
Mark Kermode: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VX1VLME36Xg
The Atlantic: https://www.theatlantic.com/entertainme ... lm/534252/
Reverse Shot: http://reverseshot.org/reviews/entry/2345/dunkirk
BFI: http://www.bfi.org.uk/news-opinion/sigh ... us-retreat
Film Comment: https://www.filmcomment.com/blog/film-week-dunkirk/
The New Yorker: http://www.newyorker.com/culture/richar ... ic-ciphers
Weekly Standard: http://www.weeklystandard.com/dunkirk-i ... le/2009007
Philstar: http://www.philstar.com/entertainment/2 ... experience
Georgetown Voice: http://georgetownvoice.com/2017/07/31/d ... o-survive/
Newsweek: http://www.newsweek.com/review-dunkirk- ... nax-638152
Slashfilm: http://www.slashfilm.com/dunkirk-spoiler-review/
The Cornel Daily Sun: http://cornellsun.com/2017/08/18/dunkir ... rytelling/


MIXED TO POSITIVE:

Screencrush: http://screencrush.com/dunkirk-movie-review/ (Rating: 7/10)
We Got This Covered: http://wegotthiscovered.com/movies/dunkirk-review/ (Rating: 3.5/5)
Washington Post: https://www.washingtonpost.com/opinions ... 7607815498 (No rating)


NEGATIVE:

The Times: https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/film ... -xknkdn69b (Rating: 2/5)
NRC: https://www.nrc.nl/nieuws/2017/07/18/ze ... 6-a1567063 (Rating: 2/5)
Jeremy Jahns: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OS0K_dwdZU0 (No rating)
Slant Magazine: http://www.slantmagazine.com/film/review/dunkirk (Rating: 1.5/4)
Kaplan v Kaplan: https://www.kaplanvskaplan.com/new-releases/dunkirk/ (No rating)
Leonard Maltin: http://leonardmaltin.com/dunkirk-misses ... g-picture/ (No rating)
New Republic: https://newrepublic.com/article/144014/ ... war-boring (No rating)
The Guardian/David Cox: https://www.theguardian.com/film/filmbl ... ft-me-cold (No rating)
Marie Claire: http://www.marieclaire.com/celebrity/ne ... ie-review/ (No rating)
Sky News: http://news.sky.com/story/dunkirk-is-ch ... t-10968525 (No rating)
Last edited by Willem on September 20th, 2017, 9:31 am, edited 9 times in total.

Posts: 5926
Joined: August 2012
I think this is an important point to make, so I hope this post won't get deleted:

When posting official reviews, please refrain from posting ANY kinds of spoilers or information that could potentially ruin the experience for other members - so please, before posting the review (or a link to it) - read it carefuly (with your own caution, of course) and post only the suitable portions of the review. If you're unsure - please only post the link to the review itself and specify "it may contain spoilers" in a visible manner.

If the review IS NOT spoiler-free, please post only the link to the review or post the review itself under spoiler tags - [ spoiler][/spoiler ]. Under both circumstances, please notify everyone that the review contains spoilers, as I've mentioned above.

Those who don't comply will have their posts removed or edited.

I don't enjoy being this serious tbh lmao.

Posts: 894
Joined: June 2012




Posts: 2535
Joined: June 2016

Posts: 2535
Joined: June 2016

Posts: 3606
Joined: August 2009
Location: a galaxy far far away

Posts: 29
Joined: November 2014
Location: New York, NY

Post Reply