Loading...
Christopher Nolan's science-fiction epic starring Matthew McConaughey, Anne Hathaway, Michael Caine and Jessica Chastain.

'Interstellar' Official Reviews

Posts: 17398
Please use this thread for official/critic reviews only.

Rules:
1. Only official/critic reviews may be posted.
2. Please try to avoid posting the same review over and over again. Duplicates will be deleted.
3. No discussion. You may do that in the Reviews Discussion thread. Any post that does not contain a link to a review, will be deleted.
4. Link to the original source of the review.
5. If a review contains spoilers, please spoiler tags for that part of the review. If you post a review that contains spoilers, and do not properly use spoiler tags, there will be consequences.


I'll try my best to keep the OP updated with tally of positive, mixed, and negative reviews has they are posted.

~Positive~ 88/i]
Batman on Film www.batman-on-film.com/on-film_review_INTERSTELLAR
Time Out London - 5/5 http://www.timeout.com/london/film/interstellar
Indiewire.com - B+ http://www.indiewire.com/article/review ... e-20141027
Awardscircut - 3.5/4 http://www.awardscircuit.com/2014/10/27/interstellar/
Variety http://variety.com/2014/film/reviews/fi ... 201338475/
Digital Spy - 4/5 http://www.digitalspy.co.uk/movies/revi ... ign=twdsuk
Hitfix http://www.hitfix.com/motion-captured/r ... terstellar
The Telegraph - 4/5 http://www.telegraph.co.uk/culture/film ... piece.html
Independent 4/5 http://www.independent.co.uk/arts-enter ... 21264.html
Joblo.com - 9/10 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=faO8Z0vSrcw
Little White Lies - 4/5 http://www.littlewhitelies.co.uk/theatr ... llar-28347
Comingsoon.net http://www.comingsoon.net/news/reviewsn ... ?id=124403
Screen Daily www.screendaily.com/reviews/the-latest/interstellar
Topless Robot http://www.toplessrobot.com/2014/10/tr_ ... tellar.php
The Verge http://www.theverge.com/2014/10/27/7077 ... ilm-review
Total Film http://www.totalfilm.com/reviews/cinema/interstellar
Hollywood News http://www.hollywoodnews.com/2014/10/27 ... ar-winner/
Den of Geek http://www.denofgeek.us/movies/interste ... lar-review
Erik Davis, AMC Movie Talk https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kLAtOo9qdJY
3News - 5/5 http://www.3news.co.nz/entertainment/in ... 2014102809
USA Today - 3/4 http://www.usatoday.com/story/life/movi ... /18018445/
IGN - 8/10 http://www.ign.com/articles/2014/10/27/ ... lar-review
Film Flutter - 4.5/5 http://www.filmfutter.com/interstellar/
Empire - 5 Stars http://www.empireonline.com/reviews/rev ... FID=138121
TooFab.com - http://www.toofab.com/2014/10/27/christ ... ie-review/
Mashable http://mashable.com/2014/10/27/interstellar-review/
TwitchFilm twitchfilm.com/2014/10/review-interstellar
Mirror http://www.mirror.co.uk/lifestyle/going ... ve-4523289
Daily Mail - 4/5 www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-2810410/Anne-s-dazzling
Pop Sugar http://www.popsugar.com/entertainment/I ... w-36003586
Showbiz 411 http://www.showbiz411.com/2014/10/28/re ... nd-kubrick
Amirose Eisenbach & Alicia Malone https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aF4JwGqxfSQ
Gizmodo http://gizmodo.com/interstellar-review- ... 1651908619
Popular Mechanics http://www.popularmechanics.com/technol ... ck=pm_news
TlkAbtMovies - 3.5/4 http://tlkabtmovies.com/2014/10/28/interstellar-2014/
Pete Hammond https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yJ3V0I8XlcI
Gizmodo Australia http://www.gizmodo.com.au/2014/10/inter ... an-review/
Kotaku Australia http://www.kotaku.com.au/2014/10/inters ... -review-2/
Movie Hole http://moviehole.net/201481791interstel ... -brilliant
Space.com http://www.space.com/27549-interstellar ... eview.html
Cinetelerevue cinetelerevue.be/fr/interstellar-film-critique
Final Reel - 5/5 http://www.finalreel.co.uk/interstellar-review/
Jabbatron - 5/5 http://jabbatron.com/2014/10/29/film-re ... erstellar/
The Upcoming - 5/5 http://www.theupcoming.co.uk/2014/10/29 ... ie-review/
Bleeding Cool http://www.bleedingcool.com/2014/10/29/ ... -the-moon/
More Intelligent Life http://moreintelligentlife.com/blog/tom ... terstellar
Herald Scotland http://www.heraldscotland.com/arts-ents ... 1414592472
Time Magazine time.com/3545770/interstellar-movie-review
Hollywood News http://www.thehollywoodnews.com/2014/10 ... witterfeed
Mark Meets http://markmeets.com/?p=9008
Hey Guys http://www.heyuguys.com/interstellar-review/
Matt's Movie Reviews - 4/5 http://www.mattsmoviereviews.net/movie- ... ellar.html
Shane Morgan http://shanemorgan.wordpress.com/2014/1 ... erstellar/
Panda's Choice - 4.5/5 http://pandaschoice.com/tag/interstellar-2014-review/
Slate http://www.slate.com/articles/arts/movi ... iewed.html
Film Ink http://www.filmink.com.au/reviews/interstellar-film/
Honeycutts Hollywood http://honeycuttshollywood.com/interste ... lm-review/
Inquirer.net http://lifestyle.inquirer.net/175925/in ... tious-film
Associated Press http://bigstory.ap.org/article/4df741cb ... c-knockout
Lacinematech.fr http://lacinematech.fr/critique-interstellar/
Lets Start With This One http://letsstartwiththisone.blogspot.co ... eview.html
Avoir Alire http://www.avoir-alire.com/interstellar ... ue-du-film
Blog Lovin http://www.bloglovin.com/viewer?post=36 ... k=0&user=0
WP Film http://film.wp.pl/id,146535,title,Inter ... omosc.html
Starburst Magazine http://www.starburstmagazine.com/review ... lar-review
Live for Films http://www.liveforfilms.com/2014/10/31/ ... um=twitter
The Movie Waffler http://www.themoviewaffler.com/2014/10/ ... ellar.html
Movie Pilot http://moviepilot.com/posts/2014/10/31/ ... nal,manual
Flickfilosopher.com http://www.flickfilosopher.com/2014/10/ ... onder.html
Journal du Geek http://www.journaldugeek.com/2014/10/31 ... tel-laire/
SBS.com http://www.sbs.com.au/movies/movie/inte ... vie-review
UK Huffington Post http://www.huffingtonpost.co.uk/paul-dr ... ertainment
AV Forums https://www.avforums.com/review/interstellar-review.10827
Entertainment Weekly .ew.com/ew/article/0,,20847346,00.html?
Film and TV Now http://www.filmandtvnow.com/interstella ... ime-space/
Miami Herald http://www.miamiherald.com/entertainmen ... 97466.html
The Society for Film http://thesocietyforfilm.com/2014/10/interstellar/
The Popcorn Junnkie http://thepopcornjunkie.com/2014/11/01/ ... erstellar/
Idiot Box http://www.idiotbox.co.uk/interstellar-review-60145/
awchamburg.org https://www.awchamburg.org/articles/fil ... ellar.html
Cinephilabeyond.org http://www.cinephiliabeyond.org/interst ... g-machine/
Daily Star http://www.dailystar.co.uk/movies/40811 ... t-stunning
News Day http://www.newsday.com/entertainment/mo ... -1.9559027
Access Hollywood http://www.accesshollywood.com/movieman ... eo_2448437
Daily Grail http://dailygrail.com/Reviews/2014/11/R ... terstellar
The Metropolist http://www.themetropolist.com/film/revi ... erstellar/
The Vine http://thevine.com.au/entertainment/new ... 03-289413/
Newark Star Ledger http://www.nj.com/entertainment/index.s ... eyond.html

~Mixed~ [i]16

widelantern.com Widelantern.com
Hollywood Reporter http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/movie/ ... iew/744059
Screencrush.com http://screencrush.com/interstellar-review/
Badass Digest http://badassdigest.com/2014/10/27/inte ... ul-flawed/
First Showing http://www.firstshowing.net/2014/review ... ng-sci-fi/
London Evening Standard standard.co.uk/goingout/film/interstellar
The Times - 3/5 http://www.thetimes.co.uk/tto/arts/film ... 249398.ece
Daily Bruin http://dailybruin.com/2014/10/29/movie- ... erstellar/
Altfg.com http://www.altfg.com/blog/reviews/inter ... ie-review/
Den of Geek UK - 3/5 http://www.denofgeek.com/movies/interst ... lar-review
What the Flick https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vbUACNxx-pQ
The New Daily http://thenewdaily.com.au/entertainment ... beautiful/
Linfotoutcourt.com http://linfotoutcourt.com/interstellar- ... see-nolan/
One Room with a View http://oneroomwithaview.com/2014/10/31/ ... ar-review/
Bolly Brit http://www.bollybrit.com/reviews-blog/film-review-interstellar
The Clut Den http://www.thecultden.com/2014/11/film- ... ellar.html

~Negative~ 22
The Playlist - D http://blogs.indiewire.com/theplaylist/ ... e-20141027
Forbes http://www.forbes.com/sites/scottmendel ... -in-space/
Cinema Blend - 2.5/5 http://www.cinemablend.com/reviews/Inte ... 66367.html
Movie City News http://moviecitynews.com/2014/10/review ... n-spoiler/
The Wrap http://www.thewrap.com/interstellar-rev ... -hathaway/
Crave Online http://www.craveonline.com/film/reviews/779953
The Movie Minute - http://themovieminute.com/Interstellar.html
The Guardian http://www.theguardian.com/film/2014/oc ... cconoughey
Vanity Fair - http://www.vanityfair.com/vf-hollywood/ ... lar-review
The Brag - 2.5/5 http://www.thebrag.com/arts/interstellar
BuzzFeed http://www.buzzfeed.com/alisonwillmore/ ... rm=4ldqpia
Village Voice http://www.villagevoice.com/2014-10-29/ ... his-stars/
Screen Space http://screen-space.squarespace.com/rev ... ellar.html
Sabotage Times http://sabotagetimes.com/reportage/inte ... te-bobbins
The Herald Au http://www.theherald.com.au/story/26630 ... erstellar/
Wired UK http://www.wired.co.uk/news/archive/201 ... lar-review
Uncut UK http://www.uncut.co.uk/blog/the-view-fr ... rstellar-0
Ecranlarge.com http://www.ecranlarge.com/films/critiqu ... ng-spatial
ReelGood.com http://www.reelgood.com.au/review-interstellar-2014/
Fourthreefilm.com http://fourthreefilm.com/2014/11/interstellar/
The New Yorker http://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2014/ ... ve-physics
Film Aluation http://www.filmaluation.com/interstellar.html
Posts: 7903
http://widelantern.com/2014/10/review-i ... -the-sores

There’s not much to say about Interstellar. Partly because Christopher Nolan asked not to spoil the movie for everyone else.

But that doesn’t leave much to say. Because explaining what it’s about already gives too much away.

The director and his brother Jonathan Nolan have gifted us with remarkable moments in film history. Always meaningful and expansive in scale, their concepts are at times mesmerizing and confounding. Most of the time, audiences simultaneously experience a mixture of the two. Most of the time for the better.

The Nolans have a tendency to telegraph their last reveal far more than is required. And it is with Interstellar that it is the most bothersome. In Dark Knight Rises, the fact that Miranda Tate was really Talia al Ghul wasn’t as important to the plot—she was the villain regardless of who she purported to be—as to the theme. But in Interstellar, everything centers around that unrevealed concept. And while the amazing production design and save-the-world adventure distracts from easily connecting the dots, the emotional throughline of the story narrows the focus on the father-daughter relationship. Such that we are constantly reminded about what lengths Matthew McConaughey’s Cooper will do to save his daughter.

The journey is far more satisfying than the final destination. And such it is with Interstellar. Closing in on Boyhood running time, the movie packs in a lot of exposition and ground work in the first act. Sometimes it meanders. But Nolan certainly picked the right actor for our guide into this world. In the Q&A portion at a special SAG screening, the Academy Award winner referenced his anti-hero roles of late. When he first read the script, he didn’t know how to be the hero, the everyman. He’s forgetting his early days, emerging as the would-be Golden Boy who’d take Hollywood by storm. His underlying sensitivity may be weighed down by brashness and self-obsession, but in every character he plays, that sensitivity is palpable.

Nolan always brings the best out of his performers even if by the use of one word. Jessica Chastain said that the director gave her a note on a scene: “Zen.” It worked, and that shot made it into the movie. There are a lot of stars in Interstellar, not including the ones in outer space. And a grand story like this is ever deserving.

It may not be his best or his worst, but keep in mind, Nolan’s worst is far better than most anything out there.
Posts: 19
http://www.batman-on-film.com/on-film_r ... 27-14.html

As hyperbolic as it sounds, INTERSTELLAR looks, sounds, and feels as much like an essential life experience as it does a great movie. It offers ideas and concepts that stretch the limits of our collective comprehension and imagination, but ties it all together with those elements that are fundamental to the human experience. With all the massive scope and scale you would expect from the director and the subject matter, Christopher Nolan delivers his very best film, until his next one.
Posts: 2388
Posts: 133
Location: Recife, PE - Brazil
Posts: 17398
Mike Ryan, Screencrush

Mixed at best.

‘Interstellar’ is a good movie that so desperately wants to be important. That sentence is going to read as churlish, but I do admire ‘Interstellar’ for at least attempting to be something that’s not dumb. There are already too many dumb things we are subjected to on a daily basis. And ‘Interstellar’ is ambitious, even though there are a lot of head-scratching scenes. Yet, there we still are, spinning out of control with the reality that Nolan has created – and it’s only when we stop spinning, when we look at it from afar, that we kind of realize how absurd it all was … even though it leaves us craving a little more.



http://screencrush.com/interstellar-review/
Posts: 933
I feel like I've only been finding the bad ones and those without an actual score/grade, but mixed I guess?

http://www.forbes.com/sites/scottmendel ... -in-space/

It breaks my heart to not be swept up with one. I did not walk in with the expectation of a cinematic experience on par with Gravity or even Contact, but nor did I expect such an overall un-engaging experience. Despite penning what amounts to a “mixed-negative” review, I would never tell anyone not to see it. In-fact I would recommend seeing it on the biggest IMAX screen you can find both to encourage such film-making pursuits and to encourage glorious 2D IMAX. It is a well-acted film of ambition and intelligence, albeit one that falls short in overall visceral and overall emotional impact. It is a film about interstellar travel that is ironically at its strongest when it remains Earthbound.
Next page →
← Return to Interstellar
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests.