Your way into Hollywood?

For those that have dreams of making films!

Moderator: Erik

Hey there,

Last night, there was a guy here asking a donation from us so that he can take a film course. Now, apperantly that was against the rules of this forum, because the topic has been removed.
In that topic I typed quite a long reply (which took me a long time, since I used my iPod for that) about how you don't nesserely need a film course/ study to become a director. I posted my story and my thoughts on it, my question to you all is;
How are you making your way into Hollywood? Are you going to film school? If not, what do you do?

Topic starter kicks off;
I'm a student Mechanical Engineering, so no film school for me. Besides that, I have no money, nor the equipment, nor the cast and crew to make my own short films. My way into the film industries is a whole different way, because right now I am writing.
I already wrote a lot screenplays. A few features, but more shorts. I stopped writing features because I can't manage to get them produced in the near future. The shorts I write are most of the time for other people. In the last months I have written 4 short films for people here on the board. It's just a matter of time before production starts. And then there is the collaboration project for which I am the leading writer for.
The people who I wrote for, all say that my screenplays are from a descent quality.

I write for a lot of different people and projects. It does not really matter for who I write.
By doing this writing, I get credit for a lot of short movies. If I keep doing this, my name will turn up more and more. This must be a good way to start. The only thing I rely on is the short film itself. If the people I wrote for make a bad movie out of it, the writer looks bad too. But if my screenplays stay from a good quality, the director has a good foundation.