Help analysing popularity

The famous 2000 film that put Christopher Nolan on the map tells the story of a man on the hunt for the man he thinks killed his wife.
I'm writing a large end-of-semester essay about Memento (after my mid-term essay for the same course was about Nolan generally) and would love some help... as I was given the essay months ago and it's due next week and I've barely started! lol (well I'm studying both Law and Media so it's not like I have time to breathe).

I've found 2 books online analysing Memento, in-depth ideas about the film, such as its symbolism to the postmodern world and Lacanian stages I pretty much know by heart.

What I need help with most of all is analysing the popularity of the film. I saw it made less than a 100,000,000$ worldwide... considering its budget it did extremely well. But considering the fact it was nominated for Academy Award, how well recieved it was by reviewers (and audiences, according to the rating on IMDB) and how well people remember this movie to this day, it's not much.

I was thinking about explaining it by categorizing it as a cult-film. But to do that I need hard facts. Wikipedia calling it that isn't a hard fact. I was looking online for a good source of what a cult-film really is, but didn't find a proper explanation to the phenomenon, nor a way to really prove Memento is such, it doesn't have the crazy followers who make it easy to categorize a film as cult (I don't just mean Rocky Horror, but Fight Club and Matrix are easy to categorize as cult-films for the matter).

And so I need to write an in-depth analysis of why the film, compared to films that can be considered similar, didn't do THAT well.